Diaper Disaster

I took a week off from suggesting the toilet to Buzz. He was starting to act defiant, and the last thing I needed was a power struggle involving poop. Then a few days ago, he started taking his diapers off–the messy ones. He even took one off just because it was wet. If that’s not a sign that he’s ready to ditch the diapers, I don’t know what is!

So, out came the undies and the plastic pants. (Not sure why I didn’t use those with the first two kids!) Aaaand…nothing. He goes in the potty when I set him there, but never number 2. And even with a timer set every hour, he sometimes wets his pants anyway. NO motivation. The kid doesn’t seem to realize that he can keep himself clean if he just uses the toilet!

I have to confess that a lot of this is my fault. I’m busy! Three days a week we are away from home all morning, and two of those days he is with other people. I also have to pick up a kindergartner every morning before lunch. Since Buzz is on a morning schedule for his messy diapers, underwear is pretty inconvenient. I can’t ask other people to clean out the inevitable mess.

Back to the diaper story, so yesterday he took off another messy one while I was nursing the baby. He even got out some wipes and tried to clean himself up. Mr. Incredible was home and did his best to clean it all up. Sadly, he didn’t search the floor after throwing away the diaper. I walked in the room later to find a few choice chunks left on the floor. That just about used up my supply of Febreze.

Somehow I’ve managed to do this potty training thing twice already. (Oh yeah, but I didn’t have older kids or places to go every day!) It didn’t seem all that hard at the time. I think I really just need to psych myself up to make it a priority, and make it fun and easy for Buzz.

In the meantime, I could use a few words of encouragement. I didn’t mean for this blog to turn into a potty training diary, but that’s just my life right now. I’m sure a lot of you are right there with me. Those of you who are done with this business forever, please remind me that it will end someday. Maybe not very soon, but someday. Right?

This entry was posted in Potty Talk and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Diaper Disaster

  1. Raechel says:

    We just finished PT our 2 year old too. I kept buying small packages of diapers saying to myself that that was it for diapers, only to buy more later. We just couldn’t carve out enough time to be at home for several days to control the mess. So we took a day off, someone else got the older one to school, no gym, grocery store or playdates, and we did it in a day-more or less. I really dig the book “Toilet training in less than a day” by Nathan Azrin. We use it and a combo of other things that just feel right. I like the repeated practice, using a dolly to show him, and the filling them with drinks all day. I still stayed away from the gym daycare for the week, but no public pants wettings to speak of! Not that I’m preaching, nothing works for everyone or every kid, but you know how we moms are…

  2. Marek says:

    I’m just ecstatic that my monkey was cognizant of it enough to have Nursery leaders find Daddy so she could go in the potty yesterday…and she totally did! The day before, she cried because she wet the bathroom floor in her attempt to open the toilet seat and get up on time. I’m thinking she’s ready…

  3. Christy says:

    I bet she’ll figure it out before my guy!

Leave a Reply

